Lake States Fire Science Consortium Webinars

For more information, visit the Lake States Fire Science Consortium‘s website.


Thursday January 18, 2018, 2:00 PM Eastern/ 1:00 PM Central
Prescribed fire in pine stands, tree mortality and the response of insects and pathogens.
Steve Katovich, Forest Entomologist, USDA Forest Service, Forest Health Protection


Thursday January 25, 2018 , 11:00 PM Eastern/ 10:00 PM Central
Three LSFSC Intern Projects:
Prescribed burning to improve management for brushland-dependent species (Rebecca Montgomery, Department of Forest Resources, University of Minnesota); Leveraging research and monitoring networks to inform management of at-risk species in the globally rare pine barrens ecosystem (Sarah Johnson, Northland College); Investigating the relative importance of climate and people in the historical patterns of fire to inform management of red pine at the University of Minnesota Cloquet Forestry Center (Adam Donaldson, University of Wisconsin-Platteville)


Thursday February 15, 2018 , 2:00 PM Eastern/ 1:00 PM Central
Quantification of understory fuels in Superior National Forest using LiDAR Data.
Jeff Irwin, USGS Earth Resources Observation and Science Center


Thursday March 15, 2018, 2:00 PM Eastern/ 1:00 PM Central
Monitoring the response of moose to large fires in Minnesota.
Mike Schrage, Wildlife Biologist, Fond du Lac Resource Management Division, Cloquet, MN


Thursday April 19, 2018 , 2:00 PM Eastern/ 1:00 PM Central
Northeast Wisconsin northern dry forest and pine barrens project.
John Lampereur, District Silviculturist and Jay Saunders, Retired East Zone Fire Management Officer, Lakewood/Laona Ranger District, Chequamegon-Nicolet National Forest